Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Jes28is
New Contributor

Not sure how to help

Hi
I have recently gone into a relationship with a man O have known for 20 years. However things have not been as I expected. His behaviour is uncontrollable he fluctuates between being happy and angry because he thinks I've done something wrong such as not great him the right way or have secrets that everyone else knows but him. We have had terrible arguments which end in him yelling at me. I am a nurse so started looking some things up when I came across bpd it was just like reading about him. He has admitted to have depression in the past and I have found out he was on medication for this but hasn't been on any for quiet a while. I'm unsure how to broach this subject with him without making him angry again. I really need some advice on what I can do. I really dont think he will take to kindly to me telling him i think he has a mental illness.
Thank you
3 REPLIES 3

Re: Not sure how to help

Hi Jes

I know how you feel. I have been married for 20 years with a wonderful man who suffers from Depression, Over the years there are times when he decides to go off his meds because he doesn't like the way they numb him or they just stop working. 

its like ground hog day. At first he recognises that its his illness but as it deteriorates he then starts blaming me for his anger.

I find that the key is to stay calm but not submissive when he looses his temper . 

I find the best way to bring it up is when he is in a good mood, over a coffee or dinner at a restaurant. This way he will remain calm. Talk about the facts not the emotion. and be as logical as possible.

Everyone is different, but this works for me

Hope it helps