Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

GavinW
Casual Contributor

Newbie here .. help ??

Relationship of 10 years + … BPD partner has made great inroads to self acceptance and am proud of him for it … but when he goes fully off the rails he pushes every trigger he knows will make me react badly … then when I DO react badly everything is my fault.

love him to death but really can’t see a way forward other than to remove myself from the situation 

I have had 10 years of screaming [removed by moderator] and have done my absolute best ( which I admit has not been good enough at times) but am just at a total loss what to do.  My words to try and deflect outbursts (whist sometimes not well chosen) just get met with further points of argument 

we are about At breaking point, which is the last thing I want but I am at a loss what to do otherwise 

I am constantly told everything I say is wrong but it’s really only the parts he doesn’t like, then ww3 starts ….

giving up seems the best (safest) option but I don’t want to …

any thoughts on how to deal are much appreciated ❤️💔

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Newbie here .. help ??

Hey there @GavinW ,

I'm hearing you. I hear how difficult it is living with someone with BPD, let alone how difficult it must be for your partner to live with the turmoil day in, day night.

At no point should you experience abuse. That is not okay. We encourage you to contact 1800RESPECT. If you feel unsafe, please contact 000.